The So So Glos Perform On Fuel TV’s Daily Habit Tonight, 9 PM EST/6 PM PST

Make Robert Christgau’s Consumer Guide & # 61 On His Dean’s List
Tourism/ Terrorism EP Out Now On Green Owl

Click Here For More Info On The Daily Habit/Fuel TV More Info

Tonight at 9:00 pm ET (6:00 pm PT) while re-airing later in the evening at 12:00 am ET (9:00 pm PT)
and the following weekday at 2:30pm ET (11:30am PT) and 5:30pm ET (2:30 pm PT)

“Armed with a cache of songs that skillfully surveys all of Clashendom, The Glos is the rare group that can literally (and justifiably) command an audience—lead singer and bassist Alex Levine is prone to telling everyone to move toward the stage (“I know this is New York, but you don’t have to pretend you’re too cool”) and dance. The crowd always obliges”  New York Press : Best Local Rock Band 2008 http://www.nypress.com/21/39/news&columns/entertainment.cfm

“One of those kids, Alex Levine, 20, was clad in a leather jacket and Doc Martens shoes. He scrawled lyrics into a tiny notebook and spoke about organizing a rock-flavored fund-raiser for Senator Obama. The younger Mr. Levine plays bass and sings for a Brooklyn-based band called the So So Glos, a group that lacks a “W” between the “O” and the “S” out of animus for the current president, he said. He was the one who first got his father excited about Senator Obama, and he considers himself unusual in his political fervor. He tries to spread the word wherever he can, even at rock concerts. “Most people I have talked to at shows seem apathetic,” he said. -Jonathan Miller, The New York Times

The So So Glos, a super-loud punk outfit that doesn’t let its high level of musical sophistication get in the way of the good time. -Armin Rosen for Impose

The SO SO GLOS are four brothers who play the punk rock and roll that they believe in. Originally from Bay Ridge, Brooklyn, they now live at the Market Hotel in Bushwick- a space they founded that is both their home and community. Brews, smokes and music blasting, the J train crushing along the tracks outside, non-stop. That is their music: aggressive, urgent, and immediate- political and poetic because it has to be. But these Brooklyn kids aren’t just touting the same old punk; Graced with electro MPC breaks, surf sounds, gang vox, and a little tambo it sounds fresh. Still though, after the rubble settles and the smoke clears, its unmistakenly punk rock in its spirit.

They started the infamous Market Hotel venue with promoter Todd P because they felt, with the DIY scene getting stronger; Brooklyn needed a larger all ages DIY venue. They were right- The Hotel has gone to host some of the best bands of now (No Age, The Black Lips, Dan Deacon) and some of the most legendary NYC parties in recent memory. Never content to play hometown heroes The SO SO GLOS self-released their S/T full length in 2007 and supported it with DIY touring at house parties and punk clubs all around the US.

In August The SO SO GLOS recorded “TOURISM / TERRORISM” at Staten Islands SOR studios with Adam Reich producing and mixing done by Spidey (Ghostface Killah). At 27 minutes long, the record is somewhere between an EP and an album. It was made a shortplayer “for the trigger happy iPod generation” half-jokes 21 year old lead singer Alex Levine with a grin. These guys are for real.  The SO SO GLOS will begin a new tour in October, with dates lasting until everyone f@cking gets it.

For Press Inquiries Contact Kip@TellAllYourFriendsPR.com

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Speak Your Mind

*