Phil and the Osophers Release New Video For “We Have All Summer”

Reveal Tracklisting And Cover Art

“Parallelo” LP Out August 4th on Factual Fabrications


Click Here To Watch the Video for “We Have All Summer”

 Download and share the mp3 of “We Have All Summer”

“Modern art makes Phil & the Osophers want to get their eyes fixed. The Brooklyn three-piece make like Doc and the Tors in the loose, ramshackle indie-pop tune ‘High Art’ ” – Pitchfork

“Brooklyn duo Phil And The Osophers are a band who swim in the same gutter water of neo-Nuggets groups like The Black Lips and King Khan & The Shrines” – RCRD LBL

“Cast iron proof that really all you need in order to make a great album is a cast-iron knack for an infectious tune, and the ability to write good lyrics. This has both of these qualities in spades.” -Drowned in Sound

“guitar and drum songs with a more contemporary bend” -Filter

“the music is a welcoming relief, dig that garage, dirty, honest sound”

Phil and the Osophers will make their sixth full length album, Parallelo, available on CD and digitally August 4 on Factual Fabrications, Phil’s own sustainable label. The album finds the Brooklyn 3 piece developing into a jingly and jangly artistic indie rock while retaining carefully crafted and philosophical lyrics. The band has a catalog of over 100 songs, and this new album is their most impressive work to date.


The 11 song cycle of Parallelo explores parallels and coincidences in our understanding of meaning. Phil has an interesting explanation for all of these songs- “Uses Of A Man deals with equal rights for all lovers”, Creators “is a thesis on God in the time of slavery”, Propeller Jet is “about suiting up with Amelia Earhart on her last flight” “Cheap Livin is an tribute to the rich folks who lost it all” …Tie it together with an avant-garde indie pop sound and you have Parallelo. It is this sort of innovation that makes Phil and the Osophers such a one-of-a-kind act.

THE PHILOSOPHY (a choice line from each song)

Uses Of A Man- “A receipt wrote for my soul, a receipt to delay, a receipt to do more than completely revoke the shame upon your name, the shame upon your certainty”

Extra Weight- “it arouses self-deprecation but no edgewise word left to say”

We Have All Summer- “No begging for divine help, this overture is gonna write itself”

Mayan Calendar- “The winter solstice of redundancy fulfilled by never evolving”

Cheap Livin- “Freedom and a bargain are opposites”

Staring Down The Sun – “all the grieving and groveling you done will not award another one”

Creators- “I cursed my own caretaker and then in love began to cry and pulled apart the shades to show the people passing by”

Milestones- “You’re becoming none but a composite of time and ego and fluff”

Pineapple- “I’ve had it with all of you, I don’t even come off as humorous”

Propeller Jet- “All my standards are doubled”

Well Being- “The lengths I go to keep distance pledge a quick, tongue bitten allegiance”

The Brooklyn 3-piece have been on a tear recently: playing SXSW and the Northside Festival in Brooklyn, as well as playing shows with Art Brut, Passion Pit, Les Savy Fav, Le Loup, Telekinesis, and the Ruby Suns.

In addition, all 3 members have written and published books of poetry and non-fiction through their own publishing house called ILOANBooks. Bass player Gus has published NINE books, Drummer Kevin has published two, and Phil has just written his first book of poetry entitled “SHAKE! and other rattlers”. These books are usually free at shows and otherwise available upon request.


1. Uses of A Man

2. Extra Weight

3. We Have All Summer

4. Mayan Calendar

5. Cheap Livin

6. Staring Down The Sun

7. Creators

8. Milestones

9. Pineapple

10. Propeller Jet

11. Well Being

For Press Inquiries Please Contact

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Speak Your Mind