DARK DARK DARK Announce US Tour, Release New MP3

TOUR BEGINS OCTOBER 2nd, NEW ALBUM, WILD GO, OUT OCTOBER 5th

Minneapolis-based chamber-folk sextet Dark Dark Dark are taking to the road this fall in support of their new album, Wild Go (released October 5th on Supply & Demand Music). The tour kicks off on October 2nd, with a big hometown record release show at First Avenue in Minneapolis, and ends up in New York for the CMJ Music Festival.

Preceding the tour will be three special screenings of “Flood Tide: Remixed”, a film directed by Dark Dark Dark bassist Todd Chandler. A “road movie on a river”, the film was shot on 2008 in collaboration with Swoon’s Swimming Cities Of The Switchback Sea, a large-scale installation which sailed down the Hudson River. All screenings will feature a live score performed by Dark Dark Dark, as well as a music-only set.

In conjunction with the tour, Dark Dark Dark have released an MP3 for “In Your Dreams”, the first song on Wild Go. “In Your Dreams” is about finding a place where you can be free, with an unexpected uptempo swing and doo-wop harmonies.

Check out “In Your Dreams” here: http://www.sad-music.net/darkdarkdark_inyourdreams.mp3

And listen to/download “Daydreaming” off of Wild Go here: http://sad-music.net/darkdarkdark_daydreaming.mp3

DARK DARK DARK TOUR DATES:

Thu. Sep. 16 — San Jose, CA @ South Hall – part of 01SJ Biennial (Flood Tide Screenings with DDD performing a live score – also performing a set)

Sun. Sep. 19 — San Jose, CA @ South Hall – part of 01SJ Biennial (Flood Tide Screenings with DDD performing a live score – also performing a set)

Thu. Sep. 23 — Los Angeles, CA @ Hammer Museum (Flood Tide Screening with DDD performing a live score – also performing a set, free show)

Sat. Oct. 2 — Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue w/ Roma di Luna (Record Release Show)

Sun. Oct. 3 — Madison, WI @ Project Lodge

Mon. Oct. 4 — St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway

Tue. Oct. 5 — Louisville, KY @ Skull Alley

Wed. Oct. 6 — Huntsville, AL @ Flying Monkey Arts

Thu. Oct. 7 — New Orleans, LA @ All Ways Lounge

Sat. Oct. 9 — Atlanta, GA @ The Five Spot

Sun. Oct. 10 — Charleston, SC @ Eye Level Art

Tue. Oct. 12 — Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle

Sat. Oct. 16 — Brooklyn, NY @ Glasslands

Mon. Oct. 18 — Portland, ME @ SPACE

Tue. Oct. 19 — Boston, MA @ The Temple

Wed. Oct. 20 — New York, NY @ CMJ – Cake Shop (Terrorbird CMJ Day Party)

Thu. Oct. 21 — Brooklyn, NY @ CMJ – Coco66 – (Supply & Demand/InDigest CMJ Official Showcase)

Sat. Oct. 23 — New York, NY @ CMJ – Fontana’s – (Flea Marketing CMJ Day Party)

Sun. Oct. 24 — Providence, RI @ AS220

Wed. Oct. 27 — Detroit, MI @ The Bakery

Thu. Oct. 28 — Chicago, IL @ The Hideout

Dark Dark Dark recently performed as part of the MPLS.TV City of Music series.  To get an idea of what audiences can expect from their live show, check out: http://vimeo.com/13620489

“If you don’t yet have a favorite twisted lounge act, make Dark Dark Dark your top candidate. Built around the existential piano rumblings of Nona Invie . . .  a revolving cast of musicians creates an orchestral effect with choir-like vocals, accordion, and the occasional triangle, in what can only be called ‘lush instrumentation.'”  – Maranda Bish, Portland Mercury

“Overall, Wild Go is superbly dreamy and romantic, further established by near-constant mentions of dreams and love…Two standouts on this album: the sweeping title track adn the plucky-then-epic ‘Heavy Heart,’ both of which should take numerous turns in your rotation.” – Alison Baitz, Venus

“If you say you’ve heard a better song today, you’re lying.” — Tom Ravenscroft, BBC6

Dark Dark Dark Online:

http://www.myspace.com/darkdarkdarkband

http://brightbrightbright.com/

http://www.floodtidefilm.com

http://sad-music.net/

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Speak Your Mind

*