Heartland Cafe Calendar of Events 11.10.11

Check out what’s new over at Heartland Cafe this week!

Thursday, November 10 ? 8 pm
The Bulbul Ensemble
$7.00, Gypsy Jazz

Saturday, November 12 ? 9 pm
Railway Records Presents
A Celebration of Neil Young?s Birthday
$5.00, Americana

Sunday, November 13 ? 8 pm
Guitar Friends Fall Recital
No Cover, Student Recital and Showcase

Wednesday, November 16
In One Ear; open mic for poetry, music and more
Hosted By Pete Wolf
$3.00, Sign up at 9:30 pm, Show at 10 pm

Thursday, November 17 ? 8 pm
Songsalive! Songwriter Showcase
$5.00 Suggested Donation, Singer Songwriters

Friday, November 18 ? 9 pm
The Clark Street Band
$5.00 Suggested Donation, Big Band Jazz

Saturday, November 19 ? 9 pm
The Seth HIsky / Hashim Uqdah Duo
$5.00, Jazz

Sunday, November 20 ? 7 pm
The Harris Group
$5.00 Suggested Donation, Jazz

Wednesday, November 23
In One Ear; open mic for poetry, music and more
Hosted By Pete Wolf
$3.00, Sign up at 9:30 pm, Show at 10 pm

Saturday, November 26 ? 9 pm
The McDaniels
Barbara Holek
$5.00, Americana

Wednesday, November 30
In One Ear; open mic for poetry, music and more
Hosted By Pete Wolf
$3.00, Sign up at 9:30 pm, Show at 10 pm

Thursday, December 1 ? 8 pm
Opera On Tap
http://www.operaontap.com/chicago/
$10.00 Suggested Donation, Opera

Our mission as a not- for-profit 501(c)3 company, is to promote opera as a viable, living and progressive art form deserving a place on the American cultural landscape. In 2005 we created Opera on Tap as a performance outlet for our friends and ourselves. We wanted an opera “gig” in the vein of the New York rock or jazz gig. Freddy?s Bar and Backroom provided us with the opportunity. It was an affordable way to have fun together and work on our music at the same time… Guess what else happened?

We discovered a new audience starved for intense, acoustic, musical experiences! More often than not, opera is perceived in this country to be elitist, pretentious, stuffy and boring. Going to the opera means dressing up, shelling out a lot of money, putting on an air of sophistication and most importantly, not making any noise whatsoever, unless it?s the appropriate time to applaud the diva. There is indeed a tradition of behavior at the ?Opera?: Act classier than you really are. In America, opera is placed on a high pedestal, so high unfortunately that the average Joe is throwing his hands up and spending his money elsewhere.

Saturday, December 2 ? 9 pm
Mathew Tembo
$5.00, World / Reggae

Saturday, December 3 ? 9 pm
Aberration
No Cover, Jazz

Wednesday, December 7
In One Ear; open mic for poetry, music and more
Hosted By Pete Wolf
$3.00, Sign up at 9:30 pm, Show at 10 pm

Thursday, December 8 ? 8pm
DP and The Alleycats
$5.00 Suggested Donation, Americana

Saturday, December 10 ? 9 pm
TBA

Sunday, December 11 ? 7 pm
The Eddie Stevens 3
$5.00 Suggested Donation, Jazz

Wednesday, December 14
In One Ear; open mic for poetry, music and more
Hosted By Pete Wolf
$3.00, Sign up at 9:30 pm, Show at 10 pm

Thursday, December 15 ? 8pm
Craig Champlin
$5.00 Suggested Donation, Americana

Friday, December 16 ? 9 pm
The Stardust Big Band
$5.00, Big Band Jazz

Saturday, December 17 ? 9 pm
Kmang Kmang
$5.00, World / Alternative

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Speak Your Mind

*